Generator Hostels – Is Luxury Possible in a Hostel?

By:  Ariela Kiradjian, Hospitality Student

Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte

The Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte is definitely in the luxury category — that is, if you can even consider hostels (which I highly suggest you try). I arrived at Generator late on a Thursday night, very tired from a six hour train ride from Heidelberg.

The property was very easy to get to from the main train station. I was happy to be welcomed by a smiling face at the registration desk; check in was very easy and I was surrounded by a lot of advertising for attractions in Berlin.

At check-in, I was asked if I needed any amenities that were available for purchase, including a toothbrush, hairbrush, and such. I was also given tokens for my breakfasts each morning. After about a two minute walk to my room, I was very surprised as everything was clean, simple, modern and useful. There were even two bathrooms-one for the toilet and sink and the other for the shower and another sink!  Generator private room

The property is very well designed; each room has a little touch of the Berlin style. Splashes of color are throughout the hostel with fun paintings and artistry. There is even a café, lounge and nightclub! After a good night’s sleep, I went downstairs to the cafeteria which offered fruit, oatmeal, cereal, bread with meat and an array of juices and coffees.

After eating, I met with some people from Russia at the hostel’s library that included a couple of couches and computers (it was very cozy!) Generator Hostel LoungeThat day, I started exploring the city and I found out how hip the area is. Generator is located in the Bohemian area of Berlin, with lots of street art. It was so fun just walking around this area; it is filled with great boutique shops, restaurants and bars. It is also in walking distance to Museum Island and Hackescher Market.

Generator Berlin Mittee EAT
Generator Berlin Mittee EAT

It was very easy to notice that the hostel is meant for meeting new people from all around the world without having to stay somewhere dirty and unsafe. The hostel hosts events and even yoga! I left that Monday very early in the morning, very sad to leave. I had a very easy check out and left with more smiling faces and a sweet goodbye.

Leave a Reply

